What’s in your bin?

Hey all!

I am sorry for my lack of posting lately. As I’m sure you know, there are not many child life-specific things happening in my life at the moment. I am still working full time as a nanny and seeing a community-based child life client on weekends. Like I mentioned in my last post I became a Certified Infant Massage Instructor so I have been spending quite a bit of time trying to find families who are interested in learning infant massage and I have been having fun getting my own materials together for that.

As I have worked more in child life I have accumulated a lot of supplies along the way and I have to say … it’s awesome. Now that I am a CIMI as well, I have begun to grow my infant massage supplies as well and well, now I am running out of room (small apartment problems). I have taken over 2 bins in our 2×4 Ikea shelf (not including textbooks and other academic materials) just for my supplies but it’s just not going to be enough anymore. This may not seem like a lot, but for someone who is not working full-time as a CCLS, I’d say it’s definitely a nice start!

I began collecting materials and other resources for child life as a student. What started out with a small collection of art supplies has now turned in to tons of art supplies, some medical play items, books, distraction items, AND things for massage like baby blankets, toys, baby dolls, and more.

Because I am not currently working in a hospital or as part of an organization, I am very open to collecting items to add to my collection – blank cloth dolls, fake IV bags and tubing, toys, and lately I have found a jackpot of children’s books.
*tip: keep an eye out for health-related kids’ books at second hand stores!!

As a CLS I am well aware of the versatility of just about any item, anywhere. With this in mind, you can imagine how difficult it has been for me to keep my collection down to ONLY 2 bins…for now. I am excited to see how my collection grows over the years and who knows, maybe those bins will turn in to a room!

So let’s do some sharing! What’s in your bin?? Here’s a sneak peak of what is in mine!

O-Ball, Spiral art set, Silly Putty, and a Bubble Gun
OBall, Silly Putty, Spiro-Graph Set, Bubble Gun: All of these can be used for distraction, coping, and play! 
Mini Books
Books are great but mini books are even better! Pocket-sized stories great for distraction, bedside activity, and education.
Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 8.33.40 PM
Awesome buttons and stickers from a local artisan (With Love Compassion Cards). Great motivators for patients and can serve as rewards, prizes, gifts, affirmations. I Bee Leaf in You | Go Gettem Tiger | This Too Shall Pass | Rooting for You
Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 8.33.49 PM
Activity books great for patients and siblings (even parents)! Great for creative expression and coping. 
Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 8.34.02 PM
Colostomy bags and some pretend blood-filled IV bags. I have used the colostomy bags for procedural preparation with a teenager – it’s great to use the “real life” item where possible!

 

Leave a Reply

