Always a Homecoming

I realized this evening that it has been almost exactly a month since I have done any writing on here and feel as though my adoring fans (hi mom) deserve a blog post and an update.

I’ll be honest, there isn’t much to report at the moment. I am still working away with my two little ladies and the three of us are loving each other more and more each day. They both began walking shortly after the holidays, one after the other, and have been teething constantly since then. They are learning to make new sounds, syllables, and always babbling away, and on the 22nd, and 28th they each turn 16 months old.

Sickness has been a friend of mine over the last several months – apparently that happens when you work with little ones! It has felt as though I have had a cold almost biweekly since November. Needless to say, my body has been very tired lately. I have been working 50 hours a week with my little ladies and while I am adoring spending such awesome quality time with them, it can be very draining – mentally and physically. That being said, I decided that it may be a good idea to take some time off, focus on me, and get myself back to my regular healthy state. This past Monday was Family Day here in Ontario which meant I had a day off anyways, so I chose to take the remainder of the week for myself as well.

With my time off I decided to head home to Leamington to see my parents, my sister, some family, and some friends. In summary I’d say that this week was rather spectacular. I got to sleep in, enjoy mom-cooked meals, and enjoy countless laughs with my cousins, aunts, and uncles.

Over the course of the week I did some personal reflection on the topic of self-care and what it means to me and I realized that spending time with my family plays a large role in how I care for myself. Over the years I have come to realize that no matter where I end up in this crazy world I will always be the person who talks to her parents everyday, texts her cousins just to chat, and has a Snapchat group with her whole family. I was raised in a family where love conquers all and they will always be the people with whom I seek refuge.

To my crazy, loud, amazing, beautiful, enormous family – yes, all of you – thank you for all you do, for your constant encouragement, support, and guidance. I would be nowhere without you and I promise that wherever I end up in this life, I will always come home.

Leave a Reply

