Plan A, Plan B, and everything in between…

Happy Monday, all!

The last time I checked in I had to share some disappointing news but since then a lot has happened.

I am currently working on internship applications for the Winter term and hope to secure a spot for then. It’s terrifying and super disheartening to think that I have to re-do my applications and make sure that they are strong enough to grant me a(nother) oh-so-coveted spot. However…there are other things in the works as well….so let’s call re-applying for Winter Plan B.

Plan A, is not one I can share with you just yet; this is mostly because I am not 100% sure that it is happening. IF it does happen, you will be among the first to know. IF it does happen, let me tell you, it will be BIG and super amazing. Until then, you are going to have to wait anxiously at the edge of your seats.

In other news, I am only about a month away from completing my UCSB Extension Child Life certificate which is super exciting! I am about a third of the way through my final course – Therapeutic Role of Play in Paediatric Care – and I am really enjoying it! Upon completion I will have my academic certificate and I could not be more pleased! I have had similar discussions with many people regarding the topic of post-graduate studies in Child Life and whether or not it’s beneficial to get a Master’s degree due to upcoming program changes by the CLC. For those who are stuck on this dilemma, here is my advice:

Do what is best for you. 

In terms of Child Life, does it make more sense to get a Master’s degree? Probably. So why did I choose to pursue the certificate program instead of enrolling in a Master’s program? For me, the answer was simple. I was not willing or financially able to spend tens of thousands of dollars on a Master’s program at this point in my life. Other reasons included not wanting to spend so much additional time and mental energy in a Master’s program after I had already fought quite hard in achieving my Bachelor’s degree. After finding this certificate program and seeing that I would be able to become certified and begin job hunting before the CLC requirement changes, I decided to take the jump and approach my certification this way.

What I have learned over the last year is that there is no right or wrong way to approach this field. I have met and been introduced to people from all stages of life, education, and career backgrounds who have come to find the Child Life field. If I have learned anything it is that heart, passion, and positive energy are the things that matter most in this environment…how you get here is up to you.

So for those of you who are struggling to decide on which path is going to get you the practicum, internship, or job, there isn’t one thing that is better than the other. One of the biggest lessons I can share with anyone reading is to always do what feels right and makes sense in your life and the rest will fall into place. Forcing yourself into a situation you’re not okay with or ready for is not going to make this path any easier. Take  your time, follow your heart, trust in the process and let the rest take care of itself.

One thought on “Plan A, Plan B, and everything in between…

Leave a Reply

