The Struggle: Part 6

Just when I thought this series was over…boy was I wrong.

As it turns out, I may be the first Child Life intern to go to the States for an internship while not affiliated with a school. If I’m wrong and you or someone you know has done this in the pastΒ please message meI find it hard to believe that I’m the first person to have done this, but what do I know.

So where are we with this whole Visa thing? A little farther than I was…but not anywhere near as close to the finish line as I’d like to be. Meaning that I (think I) know what kind of Visa I need but haven’t even begun the process of applying for it because it requires things that I don’t really understand to do. So what do we do when we don’t know how to do something?Β Ask – which is just what I did. I called the hospital’s Human Resources Department this morning and asked them for their help. As it turns out, they can’t sponsor the classification of Visa that I need….of course….but the woman I spoke with is going to try to figure out an alternative and speak with the girls in Child Life and Volunteer Services then get back to me. What will I do if they can’t help me? I have no idea. My friend suggests I contact my MP’s (Member of Parliament’s) office and ask them to help me, which they do for people, but if the hospital can’t even sponsor me then I’m not sure what I’ll do. Apparently I can’t go and do this without a Visa as I’ll be performing patient care in my role as a Child Life Intern….so fingers crossed that they will be able to help me otherwise it may be back to the drawing board for me.

Leave a Reply

