The Struggle: Part 5

It’s a waiting game…

Internship offer day is next TUESDAY…

For those who have been waiting at the edge of their seats…

I received ONE interview out of the 18+ hospitals I applied to…and I’m thrilled about it.

I have heard countless people tell me to not expect an interview after your first round of applications because it rarely happens. I got one – just one – but I’m so ecstatic. Not only did it give me the confidence that maybe, just maybe, someone out there finds myself and my child life application impressive BUT it gave me the opportunity to participate in a child life interview.

I won’t tell you where it was for, but I will tell you I got offered a second interview that has yet to be scheduled. Now since offer day is next week, part of me is thinking maybe that won’t happen, but we shall see!

Out of the rest of the hospitals I applied to, I did receive some rejections. I also received emails saying that they decided not to participate in the internship program for the upcoming season. And there are still a bunch that I have not heard anything from at all. SO…waiting.

The point of this blog was to be very honest and open about my child life experience, so that’s what I’m doing. Child Life is not an easy field to break in to. It’s small, and still developing. BUT what I’m hoping to show those that are reading is that no matter how many times people tell you how competitive it is, it IS possible to accomplish. And who knows, maybe I won’t get an internship this round, but that will only give me more time to amp up my resume, my experiences in the field, and give me time to grow and learn more as a person.

So whatever happens on offer day, I will accept it and be grateful for the opportunities that I have been given in my interview.

For all my fellow internship candidates, I wish you all the best!! 🙂 

14 thoughts on “The Struggle: Part 5

  1. Hey Alexx! My name is Anna, and I just found your blog! Just wanted to say I can totally relate to this post. Offer day is TOMORROW, and I’m already freaking out about if I’ll get called or not. BUT I am definitely grateful just for the opportunity to interview with programs and maybe try again next round in September. Good luck!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you found me!! Yes tomorrow is the big day and I’m not sure how much sleep I will get tonight 🙂 I’ve been told so many times that even getting an interview (especially as an unaffiliated student) is huge so I’m satisfied with just that! Best of luck to you my friend 🙂 please let me know how tomorrow goes!! Fingers crossed for us all!!

      Like

  2. Found this blog when searching for comfort and advice. I didn’t get an offer from two potential hospitals, and one being the hospital I’ve volunteered for 5 years. I’m so discouraged.

    How did it go for everyone?

    Andreina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I hope that my blog has brought you a little comfort during this process. It is definitely stressful and definitely time consuming. How many hospitals did you apply to? Are you doing child life in school or are you unaffiliated like myself?

      I know this is easier said than done, but don’t be discouraged! Is this your first time applying? For the offers you didn’t receive, I would suggest sending them an email and asking for feedback. For all of the rejections I received that’s what I did and I feel as though it gave me some valuable insight on where I could improve should I choose to reapply. And remember, internships happen almost every season…so consider reapplying in Winter and up-ing your experience. Try some new things…host a fundraiser, join a new organization, join a fundraising committee. There are lots of other ways to add to your experience. Email me and we can chat some more 🙂 alexandriafriesen@live.com

      Like

    1. HI Alexx,

      I saw it thank you! I applied to 5 hospitals, got interviews for two. I still haven’t heard from either one of them, but I know its a no. I just finished with my Master’s in Child Development and Certificate in Child Life this January. So, I am applying as unaffiliated. This is my third time applying, but second time receiving an interview. The first time I was told that I was against people in their Master’s. however, now I have one and I feel like it did nothing (Sorry- I sound so bitter! I can hear it!). I also have over 400 hours in volunteering and working with healthy children. I’m just at a loss. I want to be in Child Life so badly. I will wait until Friday to reach out to the hospitals and gain feedback. I will be applying again this September.

      I am thinking of starting a Bereavement group at the school I work at, as well as the Church associated to it. Also, looking into start volunteering for organizations that work with children that are in high stressful situations, like becoming a child’s advocate in the court system. What do you think?

      Thank you so much for our support. How did this process go for you?

      Like

  3. Hi! I’m just curious if you might be open to sharing what kind of questions were asked during your interview. Did you do a phone or in person interview?

    I had an internship lined up at a hospital that fell through because the hospital and UCSB wouldn’t agree on who would provide the insurance. So close I could taste it:(

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Audra! Absolutely. Doing the UCSB program definitely proved to be difficult because of the insurance thing. I just accepted that I’ll have to take care of my own insurance and only applied to hospitals that accepted independent interns.
      I had only 2 interviews and they were both skype, no phone interviews. For the questions they asked there were some “what did you do when” and “tell us about a time when” questions. They also gave me some scenario questions. So things like “patient A, B, and C are having procedure X, Y, and Z done at the same time, tell us how you’d prioritize”…how I’d deal with difficult staff/family members, etc. I can make a post about the interview questions if you’d like!! Hope that helps a little 🙂

      Like

  4. Hi Alexx, I read your post and while I know offer day has come and gone, I do remember how stressful it was when I was applying. You’re right, child life is a very competitive field and will probably continue to get more competitive as child life grows and develops. You have to think of ways to make yourself stand out in a crowd of people who are all trying to stand out. I wish you luck on your child life journey. I know that it’s the students who persevere and don’t give up who are able to get an internship and a job. The key is to keep trying and don’t try to compare your journey to closely to others. There are many paths up the mountain! If you ever have any questions, feel free to email me! I love chatting with students!
    Sarah
    alittleplayfullness@gmail.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sarah! I actually received offers from both interviews and have accepted an offer (details to come soon lol). I appreciate the kind words. I am beyond grateful to be on this journey and cannot wait to keep growing and learning. I am so thrilled to finally be here!
      Alexx 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

